My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo

The Sky Is Yours (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Sky Is Yours Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jun 21 1:45am
(SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


Klang Smith shows herself to be a masterful juggler.  There should be no way for all the components at play here to cohere, and yet they do.  They do with a surprising and pleasurable grace and at times the writing is nearing transcendence.  This is allegory, metaphor, and potboiler mingled artfully to make an elegant mockery of expectation and resolution. Who these people are and who they become as they spin around each other just as the dragons circle overhead suggests, finally, that superficiality requires substance to survive, and that try as some might to remain shallow, depths are there to fall into whether we like it or not.

— From Mark

Description


"There have been a lot of books heralded as heirs to Infinite Jest, but I can happily say: this is it." -- Leah Schnelbach, Tor.com

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it's like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis' last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they've ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

About the Author


CHANDLER KLANG SMITH is a fiction writer from Springfield, Illinois. She graduated from Bennington College and has an MFA from Columbia University. She currently lives in New York City.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780451496263
ISBN-10: 0451496264
Publisher: Hogarth Press
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English