My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo

Bearskin (MP3 CD)

Bearskin Cover Image
$39.99
Special Order

Description


A gritty and captivating debut about a caretaker of an Appalachian nature preserve who gets embroiled in a dangerous bear-poaching scheme-for fans of Smith Henderson, Ron Rash, and Daniel WoodrellRice Moore is just beginning to think his troubles are behind him. He's found a job protecting a remote forest preserve in Virginian Appalachia where his main responsibilities include tracking wildlife and refurbishing cabins. It's hard work, and totally solitary-perfect to hide away from the Mexican drug cartels he betrayed back in Arizona. But when Rice finds the carcass of a bear killed on the grounds, the quiet solitude he's so desperately sought is suddenly at risk.More bears are killed on the preserve and Rice's obsession with catching the poachers escalates, leading to hostile altercations with the locals and attention from both the law and Rice's employers. Partnering with his predecessor, a scientist who hopes to continue her research on the preserve, Rice puts into motion a plan that could expose the poachers but risks revealing his own whereabouts to the dangerous people he was running from in the first place.James McLaughlin expertly brings the beauty and danger of Appalachia to life. The result is an elemental, slow burn of a novel-one that will haunt you long after you turn the final page.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781538550021
ISBN-10: 1538550024
Publisher: Ecco Press
Publication Date: June 12th, 2018
Language: English