My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo

Elon

If you had a Super Power, what would it be?If I had a superpower, it would be to control water. Cuz, if you think about, water is in every living thing and covers over 70% of the earth, so I would have nearly unlimited power. I could swim like Aquaman, bend water like an Avatar Korra (or a Blood Bender...), or control it like Magneto.

If they made a movie about your life, who would play you? Donald Glover would absolutely play me in a movie. And, he would play me just like Troy from Community.

What's your sign?

Image result for damn this is some gay space communism

 

Elon's Picks by Category: Graphic Novels  Fiction  Non-fiction  Kids & YA  Cookbooks

Staff Pick Logo
The Parking Lot Attendant Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781250128508
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - March 13th, 2018

Reading this book is like standing on the edge of a high ledge, looking down and feeling your chest tighten. You will fear Ayale, AND you will cling to his every word, just as the narrator does.


Staff Pick Logo
Giant Days, Volume 1 Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781608867899
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Boom Box - December 1st, 2015

 This series really surprised me with its over-the-top humor and quirky, lovable characters. Whether you are student or not, you will find a laugh, a favorite character, and something to cheer about in this series.


Staff Pick Logo
Saga Volume 1 (Saga (Comic Series)) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781607066019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - October 23rd, 2012

Saga is in a league of its own. It's smart, it's sexy, it's hilarious, it's bloody, it's delightful, all with its own unique twists and turns.


Staff Pick Logo
Binti Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780765385253
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - September 22nd, 2015

I promise you, the Binti series is like nothing else you've read before. Okorafor's imagination is so inventive and original. This story is about SO MUCH MORE than a girl going to college. Binti will win you over again & again. And these little novellas pack a surprising punch (straight to the heart).


Staff Pick Logo
Behind You: One-Shot Horror Stories Cover Image
By Brian Coldrick, Joe Hill (Introduction by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781631409530
Availability: Special Order
Published: IDW Publishing - October 31st, 2017

Coldrick's illustrations gave me the creeps, and he sent chills down my spine with 1 short sentence. His unique style of horror makes me rethink what horror really is. And what I'm really afraid of...


Staff Pick Logo
The Power Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316547611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - October 10th, 2017

Wow! This book pulses with electricity as you read it. Alderman creates a world, full of badass women as warriors & leaders, and throws you into it headfirst. We are all aware of the faults of our society (sexism and violence against women), and Alderman wastes no time "teaching" us this. She skips straight to the point, the shock, and the hellfire.


The ABCs of Socialism Cover Image
By Bhaskar Sunkara (Editor), Phil Wrigglesworth (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781784787264
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Verso - July 12th, 2016

Great for beginner & intermediate readers. This book dispels many myths about Socialism while presenting inventive & hopeful visions for the future. Even better: It has links to further reading in each essay!


Staff Pick Logo
Eating on the Wild Side: The Missing Link to Optimum Health Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316227933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - May 20th, 2014

Did you know that applying heat to garlic cloves within 10 minutes of cutting or mincing destroys all of its many beneficial properties?

This book offers readers a little bit of history, a little bit of chemistry, and a lot of surprising nutrition facts. Robinson spares us the science jargon and speaks plainly about what to look for in the grocery store and how to get the most out of what you eat.


Staff Pick Logo
A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780692864685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Cutlass Press - September 5th, 2017

A dark, mysterious, erotic, feverish collection of short stories. From werewolves, Hansel + Gretel, and many other myths and folktales, Pereira takes readers on a dreamlike journey that lingers long after it's over.


Staff Pick Logo
Ayoade on Ayoade: A Cinematic Odyssey Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780571316533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Faber & Faber - December 13th, 2016

This book is... a wild ride.

Filled with laughs, film history tidbits, and, surprisingly, romance and action. Seriously, just flip to the front page and tell me you're not curious where this goes.


Staff Pick Logo
Redefining Realness: My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476709130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - December 2nd, 2014

Janet’s autobiography is down-to-earth in its tenderness & brave in its vulnerability. She opens her heart to her readers, and this book will cling to yours long after you put it down.


Staff Pick Logo
The Boy & the Bindi Cover Image
By Vivek Shraya, Rajni Perera (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781551526683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 11th, 2016

For readers of any culture, this a tenderly written & beautifully illustrated story of a boy & his South Asian heritage.


Staff Pick Logo
Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451666175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone Books - October 29th, 2013

There is not a dull story in this book. Brosh had me cackling & ugly laughing in public with this one. She tackles everything from childhood antics to crippling depression. She addresses these with great humor & transparency.


Staff Pick Logo
Rubyfruit Jungle Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101965122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam - June 23rd, 2015

This book is a classic for a reason. I've read it 3 times. You will find love, heartbreak, and sass 3x over in this book. Unpopular Opinion: Molly Bolt could kick Katniss Everdeen's ass.


Staff Pick Logo
Bingo Love Cover Image
By Tee Franklin, Jenn St Onge (Artist), Joy San (Artist)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534307506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - February 20th, 2018

This story will reach into your chest and wring out your heart like a rag. The illustration is dazzling, and the story is heart-melting & heart-wrenching in turns. It contains all the magic and romance of "San Junipero" (Black Mirror) with its own unique style and wit. Can't rave enough about it!


Staff Pick Logo
Sugar Town Cover Image
By Hazel Newlevant (Illustrator)
$10.00
ISBN: 9781681485874
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alternative Comics - October 17th, 2017

This comic had me blushing & giddy right alongside Hazel. A charming & sexy story with lovely illustration. Newlevant's realistic portrayal of queer & poly dating, with all its cuteness, awkardness, & charms, is refreshing. My only complaint is that I want more!


Staff Pick Logo
Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594486630
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - October 27th, 2015

For music lovers, for fans of Brownstein or Portlandia, or for anyone who loves a great memoir. Brownstein dives into childhood, rebellion, dating, touring, and much more. She has a way of getting to the raw, hidden truth of each of these, exposing her heart to the reader in a way that will expose some of your own hidden truths.

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Big Bed Cover Image
By Bunmi Laditan, Tom Knight (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374301231
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - February 6th, 2018

A universal dilemma: Who gets to cuddle with Mommy at night? This precocious kid has a reasonable, and well-researched solution to present to Daddy. Just hear her out.

 


Staff Pick Logo
Rat Queens Volume 1: Sass & Sorcery Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781607069454
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Image Comics - April 8th, 2014

An Elven Mage, a Hipster Dwarf, a Human Cleric, and a Hippy Smidgen Thief walk into a bar... Rat Queens is a fun, bloody adventure shared between 4 sarcastic, badass friends who happen to work as mercenaries for beer money.

 


Staff Pick Logo
Julian Is a Mermaid Cover Image
By Jessica Love, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690458
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 23rd, 2018

This story will make your heart melt & the illustrations are dazzling.


Staff Pick Logo
Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780544002319
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - April 2nd, 2013

Jurek takes us along on his personal journey with food, running, & life. It starts with helping his mother in the kitchen & takes us through the mountains & deserts of the West. He pushing the limits of his body & explores diet & training practices that are extreme even for the elite. It's a wild ride.


Staff Pick Logo
Jazz (Vintage International) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781400076215
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 8th, 2004

A masterpiece! Not the typical portrayal of 1920s New York, in all the best ways. There are no smooth-talking jazz kings, just a raw, intimate portrayal of Black life in Harlem. Morrison's magical realism is on full display, taking new forms on every page.


Staff Pick Logo
Dark Orbit Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765336309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - May 10th, 2016

A masterful & original piece of SF, weaving science, social commentary & brilliantly conceived alien culture & ecology.